School Commission

The function of the School Commission is to set school policy and establish, approve and monitor the annual school budget. It does not interfere in the day-to-day administrative details of running the school. The School Commission meets regularly on the first Thursday of each month from September to June at 6:00 p.m. There are three open meetings each year.

School Commission Members

Officers and At Large Members
Mike Curran President
Brendan Kolding Vice-President
Julie Leonardo Secretary
Pat Galvin At Large – Building and Grounds
Kevin McMahan At Large – Building and Grounds
Andrea Geraghty At Large – Safety
Sarah Katsandres At Large – Communications (chair)
Kamila Kennedy At Large
Tara Martin At Large – Finance (chair)
Mary Moan At Large – Communications and Finance
Ben Gauyan At Large – Endowment
Mary Ann Fessler At Large – Catholic Identity
Jackie Bryan At Large
Amanda Roberts At Large – Catholic Identity
Bill Skibitzke At Large – Hours
Karin Hansen At Large
Charise Addicks At Large
Ex Officio Members
Fr. Matthew Oakland Pastor
Anna Horton Principal
Mary Jo McFaul Vice Principal
Ted Mohrbacher Vice Principal
Dino Annest Parent’s Club President
Ann Baker Parent’s Club Vice President


The committees and goals come from the Holy Rosary School 2009-2014 (5-Year) Strategic Plan. Parent and parishioner participation, comments, and suggestions are welcome in any of these committees. If you would like to sit in one of the open subcommittees (some are closed), please contact the School Commission President.

Catholic Identity

The Committee’s objective is to assist and encourage school families to strengthen their Catholic faith. The overall goal for all Catholic schools is to prepare its students to be virtuous disciples of Christ and, as such, to be active leaders in our Catholic Church and civic communities.

The committee’s goals for 2016-17 include exploring and implementing new ways to (1) strengthen the relationship between the parish and the school in order to further our Catholic Identity as a whole and (2) to encourage school participation in events in the larger West Seattle community in a way that will show our community that our Catholic Identity includes service and inclusion.

School Finance

Members include the President and Vice President of the School Commission.

This committee oversees the Effective and Proactive Management of the Holy Rosary School Finances towards financial sustainability.  Working with Principal Horton, the Finance Committee supports the development of the 2017-2018 School operating budget and will advise and make recommendations the School Commission as to underlying decisions required to be made with respect to the budget.

School Building and Grounds

The Building and Grounds Committee serves as the liaison between the School and the Parish Facilities and Maintenance Committee (“FamCom”), which prioritizes and makes decisions with respect to all of the parish buildings, including the School.  The Committee informs and educates FamCom with respect to the School’s facility-related needs.

Emergency Preparedness Committee

In addition to School Commission member Andrea Geraghty, this committee is made up of numerous school parents with law enforcement and safety-related backgrounds.  The committee continues to evaluate and make recommendations to the principal with respect to optimizing the school’s level of preparedness across the spectrum of potential emergencies.

Communications Committee

This committee supports the school registrar and principal with the goal of ensuring student retention and increasing student enrollment.  This includes developing marketing initiatives, enhancing communication between the school and parent community and communicating about Holy Rosary to the larger West Seattle community.

Commitment Hours

This newly-formed committee will evaluate the school’s current Commitment Hours program and make recommendations to the School Commission with respect to improving the program.


Pursuant to the bylaws of the Father James Mallahan Endowment Fund, at least one School Commission member is to sit on the Endowment Committee.  Earnings from the Endowment Fund are used to support the School’s operating budget. Ben Gauyan currently serves as the Endowment Committee liaisons from the School Commission.

Application Form for 2018-2019

Holy Rosary School Commission Application 2018-2019

Meeting Minutes

April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
January 2018
December 2017
November 2017
October 2017
September 2017

May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
September 2016

April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015

May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014

You can also find minutes of School Commission Meetings from previous years in the School Commission Meeting Minutes Archive page.